As You Like It
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
As You Like It

Forum for Grade 12 Business Leadership course. BOH4M

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Music Rights

Go down 
+2
sally
Sam
6 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
Sam

Music Rights Empty
PostSubject: Music Rights   Music Rights Icon_minitimeTue Oct 05, 2010 1:39 pm

This is the email that I'm going to send to Sandra from Sony music. It's almost identical to the previous email with a few differences. Please make any additions or changes if you can Smile

Dear Catherine,

My name is Sam Lee, and I am a student from Richmond Green Secondary School. I wish to speak to you about music rights.
Our Musical Theatre class will be performing a play as a summative evaluation. We will be singing numerous songs owned by Sony music live. In addition, we will be putting on a night show of the performance and selling tickets to the public. The reason for the sale of tickets is because we want to cover the costs of putting on the show.

We have recently contacted SOCAN, and they informed us that we are exempt because the show is curriculum related and is being performed as a final examination. However, because we will be selling tickets and putting on an evening performance to cover our costs, they asked us to contact you in order to obtain the rights to the music.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Sam Lee
Back to top Go down
sally

Music Rights Empty
PostSubject: Re: Music Rights   Music Rights Icon_minitimeTue Oct 05, 2010 5:51 pm

Dear Catherine,

My name is Sam Lee, and I am a student from Richmond Green Secondary School. I am hoping to speak to you in regards to the music rights of a performace our school is putting on.